Tunisian Crochet is intriguing to me. The mix of knit and crochet is unique, it’s own texture. I’m utilizing the Tunisian Simple Stitch (tss) at the moment. TSS makes for a nice and sturdy material. The tension makes the work curl as you go, but a nice edging fixes that problem. Here I have worked a square with TSS and then edged it with regular crochet. The resulting piece of fabric will make a lovely dishcloth. Now to make a few more!

The back (below) has a nice texture to it.

This isn’t my first time to try Tunisian. I dreamed up and made a scarf for my husband this winter. Unfortunately by the time I had finished it winter was about over! Oh well, it will make his neck cozy when the season’s turn to cold again! For this scarf I started and ended with the Tunisian Purl Stitch to alleviate a little of the curl. Obviously I still need to do some blocking to see if I can get rid of the rest of the curl! The main meat of the scarf is the Tunisian Knit Stitch. It looks remarkably close to knit, however the material is much thicker.

I still have a ways to go to feel comfortable with a Tunisian hook. It’s a fun step out of the ordinary for me though.

