In my last post I showed you a couple of hotpads that I have been working on. Although basic, it’s a pattern I worked up on my own, drawing from my limited crocheting knowledge. As a result I was asked to give some direction on the how-to’s of making one. So, in an attempt to see if I am able to write down a pattern (in a readable and understandable form) I have decided to give you a tutorial.

Granny Squares are pretty simple and there are a ton of tutorials out there on how to make them (in many shapes, sizes, and styles). This tutorial will be written in the way I find it easiest to make a basic granny. I’m sure others may have some alternate ways of doing them. Hotpads are fun and quick, making them a great project for beginner crocheters.

The low-down on getting started:

Yarn~ Cotton seems like a good choice for these. I used Loops & Thread 100% Natural Cotton. I like this yarn because while it is still easy on the pocket, it is much softer and better quality then Sugar & Cream’s yarn (in my humble opinion). It doesn’t take much to finish this project. So if you have scraps to get rid of, this is a great project for those! You can change colors as often as you’d like or even do a solid color granny. It’s up to you! I chose to do 3 colors and alternate often. Also, because this is a two sided pot holder you will be making two granny squares. I did different patterns of color on either side. Do how you like!

Hook~ I used a 3.75 mm (F). I think you could use a 4mm and get similar results.

Other tools~ Scissors for snipping those ends and a yarn needle for the lovely weaving in of said ends! Music! I love me a good Pandora station and right now my “dial” is set to The Wailin’ Jenny’s, my ultimate favorite crocheting music. Mumford & Son’s provide some good listening as well. But I’ll let you pick your own inspiration. I’m sure you know your taste in music better then I!

Stitches and abbreviations you will need to know~ Slip knot, Slip Stitch (ss), Chain (ch), Double Crochet (dc), Half Double Crochet (hdc), rounds (rnd), space (sp)

Now let’s get to making our hotpads!!! I’ve provided some photos for the visual people out there. Also, don’t forget that you will be making TWO grannies to make a nice sturdy and thick pad. So once you finish your first, go back a do the whole thing over again!

Begin by making a slip knot.

After you have a nice slip knot on your hook Ch 5.

You will then ss into the first ch, creating a ring.

Rnd 1: Ch 3 (this will be considered your first dc).

Now crochet 2 dc’s into the loop. These dc’s plus the 3ch will provide you with your first cluster!

Continue Rnd 1… Ch 2. 3 dc into the loop for your second cluster. Ch 2. 3 dc (3rd cluster). Ch 2. 3 dc (fourth cluster). You will finish off this rnd with a ss into the top of your beginning ch3. Fasten off.

Rnd 2: Attach new color. Ch 3 (counts as your first dc). 2 dc in ch sp. Ch 2.

Crochet 3 dc’s into the same ch sp. You should now have 2 clusters in theΒ  first ch sp and will see the corner is now formed. Now ch 1 (you will ch 1 between each corner in this rnd). *Crochet 3 dc in next ch sp, ch 2, 3dc, ch 1* repeat the starred portion two more times to make the four corners of your square. Finish with a ss in your first ch3. Fasten off.

It should look like this.

Rnd 3: Attach yarn in corner ch sp. Ch 3. 2 dc in same ch sp. Ch 2. 3 dc in same ch sp. Ch 1. 3dc in next ch sp. Ch 1. *3 dc in corner ch sp. Ch 2. 3 dc in same ch sp. Ch 1. 3 dc in next ch sp. Ch 1* repeat the starred portion 2 more times.Β  Ss in first ch3. Fasten off. Your square is growing! Is it making sense?

Rnd 4-7: You will work each round pretty much the same as you have worked the previous two. Each round you will Fasten off and attach your new color. In each corner space you will do 3 dc. ch 2. 3dc. 1 ch will always separate the clusters on the sides of the square. ch 1. 3 dc. ch1. 3 dc… and so on. Once you get the hang of it, you’ll be able to do it in your sleep.

This should be what your finished square looks like! Seven rounds! Good job! Now go back and make one more square! πŸ™‚

Now you have your two sides! It’s time to weave in all those ends and get your squares ready for the final step!

Sandwich your squares together with nicer looking sides facing OUT. If you know crochet, you know that there is usually one side that doesn’t look as nice as the other. Hide the not so nice side!

Insert your hook into the beginning dc of a corner cluster. Make sure your hook goes through the correct stitches on BOTH squares. Attach your yarn.

Ch 2 (this will be your first hdc).

Hdc in the next 2 stitches. Remember to make sure you’re crocheting through BOTH of your squares!

In the corner ch sp you will be crocheting 4 hdc.

Continue crocheting down the side of the hotpad. One hdc in each stitch. Keep making sure you are crocheting through BOTH squares. I had a few instances where I was happily hooking and then realized I was only working in one side! Oops!

Your edge should be looking like this.

Now to make your loop so you can hang the finished product! In this corner ch sp, crochet 2 hdc. Now ch 9 (you can customize how big or small you want your loop by changing the number of ch’s).

Continue with 2 hdc in your corner ch sp. This gives you a niceΒ  little loop! Now continue on with one hdc in each stitch. Remember to crochet 4 hdc in each corner ch sp!!

To finish, ss in your first hdc (the ch 2 you started with). Fasten off and weave in your ends. You’re done!!!!

I hope that this tutorial was helpful and understandable! If you have any questions let me know and I will try to help you out! Also, if you do make one, I’d love to see your creation!!

Thanks for reading!

